Digital Story – A Little Embarrassing, A Lot Of Progress

Who are we, really? Where have we been? Where are we going?

These are all things that I continue to ask myself as I navigate through my journey to becoming an educator. So far, it has been a winding road; a task far from easy. However, it sure feels good to look back on where we have been and think, ” yeah, I am on the right track.”

Now, what good comes from putting ourselves out there? I was so hesitant to share my digital story for the following reasons: a) it is so long – I am quite long-winded and frankly just do not know when to stop talking sometimes; b) my voice sounds utterly annoying – do I actually sound like that in real life? If so, my apologies…; and c) let’s just say I don’t look like the world’s next beauty queen (messy buns, blood shot eyes and glasses are cute, right?).

I am taking a HUGE risk by sharing this video with you, and really hope that you take something from it – my ‘winding road’ could relate to your ‘winding road’? This past year has been filled with many ‘bumps’, some of which I did not think I could ever overcome. My digital story is representative of just that – the struggle of where I’ve been, and the hope attached to where I am going.

So, sit back, laugh if you must, but really just enjoy – “Much work lies ahead. We face resistance in many forms. We face constraints at many levels…But change is possible.” – Kumashiro

Part One consists of my personal narrative, explaining the concept of ‘curriculum’; Part Two consists of a more visual representation of my journey.

Leave a comment